Guide

Historic Johnson Farm

Historic Johnson Farm

The Historic Johnson Farm in Hendersonville is a great example of a late 19th and early 20th century farm and tourist retreat. It's 22 miles from downtown Asheville. Today, the property includes the 1880's home, a barnloft museum, 10 historic buildings, animals, nature trails, and 15 acres of fields, forest and streams.

The grounds of Johnson Farm are open to the public Monday–Friday, 8 AM- 4 PM. Tours of the farm house are given at 10:30 AM. You must be on a guided tour to see the farm house. Tours are $5 for adults and $3 for students. Visitors are welcome to walk the grounds, visit the animals, and take the cell phone audio tour on their own. The Farm follows the Henderson County Public School schedule of holidays and closings. Weekend tours and tours at other times during the week are available by appointment only for groups of 10 or more.

The interior of the farm house is filled with early 1900s furnishings. During the guided tour, get a great glimpse of life on the farm and boarding house. Construction of the elegant home, smokehouse, and granary began in 1876 and was completed in 1880. The entire structure was handmade from bricks that were fired on site from French Broad River mud. The Johnson Farm was the home of a wealthy tobacco farmer, Oliver Moss.

Historic Johnson Farm was a gift to Henderson County Public Schools from two bachelor brothers, Vernon and Leander Johnson. During the first half of the 20th century, Johnson Farm was a summer boarding house and tourist retreat. Mrs. Sallie Johnson and her sons treated summer visitors to three meals a day at their lovely home and farm. At one point, the charge for this would be $5 a week per person.

In 1987 the Johnson brothers willed their farm and personal possessions to the Henderson County Board of Public Education. It was their wish that the property become a hands-on museum, a lasting example of a typical mountain farm through which students of all ages could explore their heritage. For additional information call 828-891-6585. The farm is located at 3346 Haywood Road, Hendersonville, across from Rugby Middle School.

The Heritage Weavers and Fiber Artists (HWFA) occupy the 1920s boarding house at Historic Johnson Farm. HWFA is dedicated to preserving the Appalachian fiber crafts needed to support a frontier homestead in Western North Carolina. A visit to HWFA studio and gallery is included in your farm tour. Their gallery/gift shop is open Mon-Fri, 10 AM – 4 PM. They also offer a variety of classes and workshops throughout the year.

The Johnson Farm is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and has been designated a North Carolina Cultural Treasure. Only three school systems in the United States own a farm.

Historic Johnson Farm is located at 3346 Haywood Road, Hendersonville, NC, 28791. For information on events, field trips, and more, go to their website, or call 828-891-6585.

Watch the video: The historic Johnson Farm: The coop museums. (October 2020).